Drug Education News

News and views from the Drug Education Forum

TellUs3

Ofsted have published the questions they’re going to ask pupils. Their website says:

Tellus3 is a confidential online survey to gather the views of children and young people. Although devised by Ofsted in partnership with the Government’s Department for Children, Schools and Families (DCSF), it will be run by local authorities through participating schools across England from 17 March to 12 June 2008.

It provides evidence for the National Indicator set used in Annual Performance Assessments and Joint Area Reviews, and can help local authorities judge the impact of their services on perceived quality of life for children and young people.

The questions we’re likely to be interested in are below (sorry about the formatting).

Primary School Questionnaire:

The next questions are about whether you have ever drunk alcohol or smoked cigarettes. Please be as honest as you can.
25. Read the sentences below carefully and tick the box next to the one that best describes you.

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ONLY

¡ I have never had an alcoholic drink

¡ I have never been drunk

¡ I have been drunk but only once or twice and not recently

¡ I have been drunk once within the last four weeks

¡ I have been drunk twice within the last four weeks

¡ I have been drunk three or more times in the last four weeks

¡ Prefer not to say

26. Read the sentences below carefully and tick the box next to the one that best describes you.

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ONLY

¡ I have never smoked a cigarette

¡ I have smoked cigarettes only once or twice

¡ I used to smoke cigarettes regularly but I don’t now

¡ I sometimes smoke cigarettes, but I don’t smoke every week

¡ I smoke cigarettes regularly, once a week or more

¡ I smoke cigarettes every day

¡ Prefer not to say


Secondary School Questionnaire:

The next questions are about whether you have ever drunk alcohol, smoked cigarettes, or taken drugs. Please be as honest as you can.
30. Read the sentences below carefully and tick the box next to the one that best describes you.

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ONLY

¡ I have never had an alcoholic drink

¡ I have never been drunk

¡ I have been drunk but only once or twice and not recently

¡ I have been drunk once within the last four weeks

¡ I have been drunk twice within the last four weeks

¡ I have been drunk three or more times in the last four weeks

¡ Prefer not to say

31. Read the sentences below carefully and tick the box next to the one that best describes you.

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ONLY

¡ I have never smoked a cigarette

¡ I have smoked cigarettes only once or twice

¡ I used to smoke cigarettes regularly but I don’t now

¡ I sometimes smoke cigarettes, but I don’t smoke every week

¡ I smoke cigarettes regularly, once a week or more

¡ I smoke cigarettes every day

¡ Prefer not to say

32a. Have you ever taken drugs?In this question the word drugs does not include anything you take as a medicine, nor does it include alcohol, but it does include solvents, glue and gas.

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ONLY

¡ Yes

¡ No

¡ Prefer not to say

If you said ‘yes’ to the last question, please go to question 32b. If not, please go to question 33.
32b. In the last 4 weeks, how often have you taken any of the following drugs (Don’t worry if you don’t know exactly, just give us a rough idea):

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ON EACH LINE

 

Never in the last 4 weeks

Once

Twice

Three or more times

Prefer not to say

Don’t know/can’t remember

Cannabis or skunk

¡

¡

¡

¡

¡

¡

 

Solvents, glue or gas (to inhale or sniff)

¡

¡

¡

¡

¡

¡

Other drugs (like cocaine, LSD, ecstasy, heroin, crack, speed, magic mushrooms etc.)

¡

¡

¡

¡

¡

¡

33. What do you think of the information and advice you get on the following things?

PLEASE TICK ONE BOX ON EACH LINE

 

 

It’s good enough

Need better information and advice

 

Don’t know

Eating healthy food

¡

¡

¡

Alcohol

¡

¡

¡

Smoking

¡

¡

¡

Drugs

¡

¡

¡

Sex and relationships

¡

¡

¡

 

Filed under: Ofsted, Uncategorized, ,

Leave a Reply

Archives

